.

A Growing Pain: Homophobia and Kirk Cameron

When rinsed and dried celebrities look to soak in fifteen more minutes of fame

Within the 31 years of my existence, there's 20 years or so I have full comprehension of.

And of the many things I've learned from others, or the trial and errors of my own explorations through those years, there's three consistent topics I've realized are taboo in casual conversations.

Religion, politics, and whether Revolver or Abbey Road is the better Beatles album.

Last week, former Growing Pains star Kirk Cameron, decided to come out of the closet to speak out against those who come out of the closet.

Only difference is, Cameron's closet is also known as irrelevancy.

On CNN's Piers Morgan Show, Friday night, the evangelical former teen idol voiced his opinion on homosexual rights.

“I believe marriage was defined by God," said Cameron. "Marriage is almost as old as dirt, and it was defined in the Garden between Adam and Eve. One man, one woman for life till death do you part. So I would never attempt to try to redefine marriage. And I don’t think anyone else should either. So do I support the idea of gay marriage? No, I don’t.”

When asked to acknowledge whether or not he feels homosexuality is a sin, he obliged.

"I think that it's...unnatural. It's detrimental and ultimately destructive to so many of the foundations of civilization."

If anyone has seen Kirk Cameron act, the word unnatural is reserved for his career.

At first, I was taken aback by his insolent comments, and utter failure to ride the changing currents of time. But nothing made me gasp more than the understanding that Kirk Cameron was never gay in the first place.

You learn something new every day, folks.

In the top three results that appear after typing Kirk Cameron is... into Google, I'm comforted in the thought that I'm not alone in my assumptions. Roughly 209 million hits go into the Google search engine each year. Clearly I'm not the only one who thought his sudden anti-gay attacks were friendly fire.

Boy, Kirk Cameron could certainly make a tasty toe omelet with the egg that's on his face, and the foot that's in his mouth.

His gay bashing tour is the latest act on the homophobia circuit. Since taking it to the streets, he and his day dreaming doobie brothers are stirring pots with all the wrong recipes.

Problem is, Cameron and his supporters are too concerned  with rummaging through someone else's trash to acknowledge their own hoardings.

If homosexual men and women want to make honest people out of each other, and be able to stand at an alter to domesticate their union, aren't they doing right by God after all?

More and more states are approving legislation that permits gay marriage. The heterosexual opinion is starting to shift from I don't care as long as they don't touch me, to I don't care if they touch me, I'm secure in my sexuality.

Being homophobic in 2012 America, is becoming increasingly less popular than Lindsay Lohan.

Continuing to support Christian values on marriage, when the divorce rate is still at incredulous heights, makes me wonder why there is such a persistent voice trying to protect an institution many people don't take as seriously anymore.

If Cameron and his religious lynch mobs have time to force their religious beliefs on people unwilling to subscribe to any belief but the beat of their heart, then they have time to form a support group that benefits our children. The future of our society. The ones who feel the need to gain attention by taking their peers lives in the cafeterias of schools.

Because becoming a prosperous citizen of society doesn't involve the alienation of those who are turned on by things that shut you down. It's about protecting the livelihood of our future and making sure it's in safe hands.

It's time for Kirk Cameron to let go of his 1985 state of mind.

Because who gives he and his God squad the right to play match maker?

Heidi Fleiss-ing his way back into the spotlight is making Kirk Cameron look more like a pimp of Christianity rather than a disciple.

He doesn't have to abandon his faith as much as he needs to reevaluate how aged his lessons have become.

For someone whose bread was once buttered by the dimples of his smile, and a killer hazel stare, one would assume Kirk Cameron would know how to avoid such hideousness.

You don't need scriptures to tell you that God don't like ugly.

No, this isn't a mockery of Christianity. It's sincerely a stance against its insurgents that continue to devalue human elation with terroristic agendas.

Perhaps this is just another rinsed and dried celebrity making an attempt to soak in fifteen more minutes of fame? If Cameron is without sin, then by all means, he can throw the first stone.

But I get it though. Really, I do.

Defending the rights of homosexuality isn't everyone's cup of tea. But this is more the reason for them to enjoy their coffee quietly.

As crazy as it sounds, some people do like Abbey Road more than Revolver. That's the beauty of freedom.

The former goodie-two-shoes every 80s teen girl wanted to bring home, now suddenly is speaking out against what makes someone else's heart throb. While too busy worrying about how one man could be aroused by another man, Kirk Cameron forgot to consider the power of love, and how it discriminates against no race, religion, or sexual orientation.

But maybe he just can't focus passed the sexuality part of homosexuality.

Shame on him, then.

Because it appears his growing pains are the only ones with a Boner.

Jay Jeffries March 05, 2012 at 01:28 PM
Gino, He was asked his opinion and he gave it. If you don't agree with his opinion that is fine. But where do you get off with issuing a diatribe like this against someone for giving his opinion?? Your attitude is indicitve of the intolerance of the Left. If someone dares to disagree with YOUR opinion you must denigrate and belittle them. Shame on you and your narrow mind.
Gino Ferretti March 05, 2012 at 01:48 PM
I would never belittle anyone who disagrees with me. That's the beauty of opinion, everyone has one. As a world we all have to become more tolerant of each other no matter what we believe is right and wrong. There's people over in foreign countries who would love to cause mayhem for each and every one of us. Why not unite against that and leave each others business behind the closed doors it deserves to stay?
craig van kouwenberg March 05, 2012 at 03:08 PM
Totally agree with you, Jay. Regarding this writing and the brain it demonstrates: Shame on author and editor for following 'the rules of the left' instead of either common sense or courtesy.
Gino Ferretti March 05, 2012 at 03:13 PM
Fine. Revolver was a better album.
Travis March 05, 2012 at 03:49 PM
This article is ridiculous! I would flag it as inappropriate if I could.
Tony Di Domizio (Editor) March 05, 2012 at 03:56 PM
This article is an opinion piece. Thank you for your comments.
TheAwesomeOne March 05, 2012 at 04:17 PM
Kirk Cameron should critique his acting first before attacking gay marriage. That is a bigger disaster.
Matt Buckley March 05, 2012 at 05:01 PM
I find it amusing that there's a comment bemoaning the "intolerance of the Left" when the M.O. of the Right these days certainly is not synonymous with "live and let live." I hope that's bulletproof glass your walls are made of. The primary intention of this article, in my OPINION, is to discuss one who seems intent on doing plenty of denigrating and belittling all by himself. The last I checked, America was founded in order to flee religious persecution. It was to abandon the notion that people all had to believe the same thing, and run from a government that pressed that issue. Everyone is free to believe in whatever they would like to believe. But many take issue with people of Kirk's ilk because they are often vocal in their intention to absolutely NOT let people believe in whatever they would like to believe. These are people who support legislation that would prevent people from practicing those beliefs. That is xenophobia. THAT is intolerance. And thankfully, it's also becoming old hat.
Rachael Buckley March 05, 2012 at 10:24 PM
I don't see in Kirk's comments where he does not intend to let people believe what they want to. As Jay said, he was asked for his opinion and he gave it. It is possible to disagree with someone--or a group of people--without hating them, wishing them evil, wanting to stop them from talking/existing/living in peace, etc. For example, I disagree with you that someone's not supporting gay marriage legislation in any way prevents gay couples from practicing their beliefs. You are right that America everyone is free to believe whatever they want to believe. But that applies to unpopular beliefs as well as popular ones. Kirk is free to believe what he chooses--and the author of this article is free to criticize those beliefs. (Personally, I would have used fewer ad hominem attacks, but that's me.) But neither side has a monopoly on civility--or hypocrisy--these days.
Rachael Buckley March 05, 2012 at 10:36 PM
Ah. So calling his career "unnatural" and calling him a member of a "religious lynch mob" and a "pimp of Christianity" isn't belittling? Good. I was afraid this was going to get ugly.
Matt Buckley March 05, 2012 at 10:56 PM
In the case where not supporting gay marriage legislation becomes supporting legislation that bans gay marriage, that certainly does prevent gay couples from practicing their beliefs, at least legally. Yes, they can choose to be together, but being unable to be recognized as married and garnering our country's benefits as a result is discrimination. People are free to discriminate against whoever they like (in a nonviolent way, of course). But when it becomes law to discriminate, that is a different story. I agree that Kirk Cameron should not be vilified for answering a question about his beliefs, nor should Mr. Ferretti be vilified for stating his opinion in response. My issue was more with the commenter who stated that this is an example of "the intolerance of the left" when the legislation that cuts people out of the deal for being "wrong" typically comes from the right. Not always, of course, and as you said, neither side has ever had a monopoly on civility or hypocrisy ("sides"... ugh). But in the interest of small government, if there was ever a subject where people should govern themselves, one's own morality should sit at the top of the list. And of course I've now had the Growing Pains theme stuck in my head all day.
Gary Blaisdell March 06, 2012 at 03:41 PM
What's wrong with Homosexuality? The loss of morals did wonderful things for the Roman Empire. History repeats....
Brian Rox March 06, 2012 at 04:39 PM
Wow. Who thought Kirk Cameron would inspire such rage! I do not agree with Gary though... we should NOT burn and feed these "Christian" hate mongers to lions like they did in the Roman Empire.
Brian Rox March 06, 2012 at 04:47 PM
I wish Church and State would be separated.
Gary Blaisdell March 06, 2012 at 06:55 PM
The church will always have power over it's followers. The most powerful pulpits will always "help" it's congregation decide on it's political leaders. It's always been that way. The question of morality is not solely based on religion however. It is based on our experiences in our parental upbringing, education, respect for the laws of our country and our respect we have for ouselves and others. Some of us realize that it's immoral to break into someone elses home and rob,rape or kill the people in their home. The people that commit these crimes have no morals and should indeed be fed to the lions as you put it. My point is that as a people and as a government we have so many more important problems to deal with than weather a person is gay or straight. We need to elect leaders that will help us to return to what the USA was based on. I couldn't care less about Kirk Cameron's Homofobia.
Brian Rox March 06, 2012 at 07:56 PM
I believe that people who are Homophobic have no morals. I believe that a person who persecutes people in the name of any "God" is immoral and misguided. I also believe that the brave men and women who serve this country who might be gay should be able to get married. To think, they are fighting religious extremism in foreign lands to come home to someone spouting how they do not have the "right" to get married. One day there will be a marine who wants to get married. I would love to hear a politician or any homophobic person tell them they have no morals. I still do not agree that people should be fed to lions.
Gary Blaisdell March 06, 2012 at 08:06 PM
Not even "cold blodded killers" Brian?
DanglingParticiple March 10, 2012 at 01:04 AM
Mr. Cameron appears to have exerted some editorial control during his tenure on "Growing Pains", declining to recite lines that he found morally repugnant. Interestingly, his version of God was perfectly happy with his character's repeated bullying of his co-star's character over her weight. For an entire season, his character belittled his onscreen sister as "fat". The trouble is when you're commenting on a character's weight, you are really commenting on the actor. I didn't find it funny then that he belittled a young lady for her weight and I don't find it funny more than 20 years later. Frankly, if he were truly concerned with Christian principles and treating people with Christian love and kindness he would not have participated in behavior that drove his costar deeper into anorexia, just as he refused to participate in any sexually suggestive story lines. He seemed like a pious jerk then and it appears little has changed over the years.
StGabes March 10, 2012 at 03:23 PM
Thank you Jay, couldn't have said it much better myself.....
marko_cal March 28, 2012 at 09:39 PM
Bingo, Jay.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something